Sign in

Merging duplicate clients

Bookem automatically assigns bookings made online to the correct client, based on their name, surname, cellphone and email address.

However, sometimes a client can book online with slightly different details to what they are stored as on your business, for e.g.:

  • a different email address and/or cellphone number is used
  • a nickname or contraction is used, for e.g. Ben vs Benjamin
  • a new surname is used, for e.g. due to marriage

The implications of this would be that booking history, accounts, notes and other data might be split.

Luckily this is easy to fix by merging any affected client. Here's how to do it:

  • visit Clients
  • click next to duplicate clients that need to be merged and click Merge
  • Go through each client field and choose which entries should be kept in the merge, and which should be discarded.
  • Click on the Merge button at the bottom of the modal

NOTE: You must choose the correct option from each field. If the field you're seeing before merging is blank and you don't change it to the non-blank version, Bookem will save the blank version over the non-blank version.

See screenshots below.